dirtFan.com Find Dirt Track Races

Rumble on the Red Cedar

dirtFan website

On Sunday, July 18, 2021, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series invaded the Red Cedar Speedway for the Rumble on the Red Cedar presented by Chippewa Valley Energy and White City Glass. Brandon Sheppard raced from the outside of row one to take an early lead from pole sitter Ricky Weiss and went on a high side attack of the raceway. Cade Dillard was able to chase him and take several looks below and a serious bid to slide into the lead just past the 30-lap mark, but Sheppard held tough and won the 40-lap event, claiming the $10,000 payday. Dillard raced home in second from his fifth starting position and Chris Madden moved from ninth to third racing the lower to middle groove.

Local drivers, Jimmy Mars, A.J. Diemel, and Chad Mahder finished fourth, seventh, and ninth, respectively. In addition, WISSOTA, the local sanctioning body, regulars, James Giossi, John Kaanta, Rick Hanestad, Kevin Eder, Brett Swedberg, Jake Redetzke, Jeff Massingill, and Steve Laursen qualified for the $1000 to start event, all finishing outside the top ten. Giossi and Eder each won their last chance qualifying races and Kaanta looked strong as he pressured national runner, Dennis Erb in their heat and finished a close second.

For a complete rundown of qualifying times, heats, last chance qualifiers, and payouts, as well as an official race article, please visit worldofoutlaws.com/latemodels.

The support classes on the evening included open modifieds and limited late models. In the open, unsanctioned modifieds, Ashley Anderson and A.J. Diemel won their respective heats with Anderson coming from fifth and Diemel from seventh starting positions to claim their wins. In the feature, it was a no doubt about it run for Diemel off the outside of row one all the way to victory lane. Pole sitter Matt Leer ran in second, himself with a comfortable cushion over John Doelle in third. The group of Doelle, Adam Hensel, Michael Truscott, and Mike Anderson raced in tight formation to the checkered flag filling out the top six positions. Cory Mahder challenged early near the front, but faded late to seventh as Ashley Anderson, Chris Oertel, and Daniel Bargender rounded out the top ten.

Joe Provinzino won the heat and dominated the feature event in the limited late models, but a procedural infraction drew a disqualification, and second finishing Brett Shafer was awarded the win. Jordan Langer was runner up as Gavin Tarras, Ashley Wahlstrom, and Shaun Mann rounded out the top five.

It is time for the Dunn County Fair as the Red Cedar Speedway will be racing Thursday and Friday nights, July 22 and 23, 2021. Dunn County Fair night one is presented by Midwest Food & Tobacco and GRP Motorsports, and features WISSOTA Late Models, Limited Late Models, Hornets, and "Street Drags". Dunn County Fair night two is being presented by Markquart Menomonie and Dick's RV. The WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Mods, Street Stocks, and RCS Hornets will be in attendance. In addition, the Northern Vintage Stock Cars will make their appearance as well as there being a "Powder Puff" Race.

Morton Buildings Feature (40 Laps): 1. 1-Brandon Sheppard [2]; 2. 97-Cade Dillard [5] 3. 44-Chris Madden [9]; 4. 28M-Jimmy Mars [4]; 5. 7-Ricky Weiss [1]; 6. 19R-Ryan Gustin [15]; 7. 10C-A.J. Diemel [12]; 8. 16-Tyler Bruening [16]; 9. 55C-Chad Mahder [13]; 10. 28-Dennis Erb [3]; 11. 45-Kyle Hammer [11]; 12. 11G-James Giossi [17]; 13. 85-John Kaanta [6]; 14. 71-Rick Hanestad [14]; 15. 22-Nick Panitzke [22]; 16. B1-Brent Larson [8]; 17. 12-Ashton Winger [7]; 18. 22E-Kevin Eder [18]; 19. 99B-Boom Briggs [21]; 20. 3-Brett Swedberg [20]; 21. 27-Jake Redetzke [23]; 22. 6M-Jeff Massingill [19]; 23. 519-Steve Laursen [24]; 24. 99JR-Frank Heckenast [10]

Unsanctioned Open Modified Feature (20 Laps): 1. 89-AJ Diemel[2]; 2. 30-Matt Leer[1]; 3. 94JR-John Doelle[3]; 4. 44-Adam Hensel[7]; 5. 22T-Michael Truscott[11]; 6. 57-Mike Anderson[6]; 7. 55-Cory Mahder[5]; 8. 81-Ashley Anderson[8]; 9. 51-Chris Oertel[13]; 10. 10-Daniel Bargender[9]; 11. W-Cory Williams[17]; 12. 13-Nick Koehler[10]; 13. 99L-Steve Lavasseur[15]; 14. 71-AJ Roschen[14]; 15. 18-Michael Hofer[4]; 16. (DNF) 38-Zach Gibson[16]; 17. (DNF) 18H-Mark Hanson[12]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Ashley Anderson[5]; 2. 55-Cory Mahder[7]; 3. 94JR-John Doelle[3]; 4. 18-Michael Hofer[1]; 5. 10-Daniel Bargender[6]; 6. 22T-Michael Truscott[9]; 7. 51-Chris Oertel[8]; 8. 99L-Steve Lavasseur[4]; 9. 38-Zach Gibson[2]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 89-AJ Diemel[7]; 2. 57-Mike Anderson[1]; 3. 30-Matt Leer[3]; 4. 44-Adam Hensel[5]; 5. 13-Nick Koehler[4]; 6. 18H-Mark Hanson[6]; 7. 71-AJ Roschen[8]; 8. (DNF) W-Cory Williams[2]

Limited Late Model Feature (15 Laps): 1. 22-Brett Shafer[4]; 2. 34-Jordan Langer[3]; 3. 50-Gavin Tarras[5]; 4. 19-Ashley Wahlstrom[6]; 5. (DNF) 01-Shaun Mann[2]; 6. (DQ) 89-Joe Provinzino[1]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 89-Joe Provinzino[1]; 2. 50-Gavin Tarras[2]; 3. 22-Brett Shafer[3]; 4. 01-Shaun Mann[6]; 5. 34-Jordan Langer[5]; 6. 19-Ashley Wahlstrom[4]