dirtFan.com Find Dirt Track Races


dirtFan website

(Torrance, CA, May 17, 2022) California Lightning Sprint Car Series president Jon Robertson is pleased to announce that Yoshimura R&D has signed on to be an associate sponsor for the series in 2022. The famous company has been building quality racing products for over half a century.

A.J. Bender's winning Yoshimura-powered California Lightning Series Sprint Car.

Last week's CLS race at the Bakersfield Speedway was the first for Yoshimura as a marketing partner with the CLS. Ironically, San Diego, California's A.J. Bender won the main event in the Mike Schweitzer owned, Yoshimura powered #41. It was his third win (two with the CLS and one with BCRA in Northern California) in four starts in 2022.

"California Lightning Sprints is proud to welcome Yoshimura R&D as an associate sponsor for the 2022 season," Robertson said. "This is exciting news! Yoshimura R&D brings world-class engine-building expertise to the club and is based right here in Southern California."

Located 30-miles east of Los Angeles in Chino, Yoshimura is a reasonable drive time for nearly all the teams currently competing in the CLS. The friendly company offers packages and services to match the customer's horsepower needs and budgets. They will be happy to rebuild a racer's current engine or start with a fresh crate engine from Japan. "We do not simply throw in a big cam, bump up the compression, and create a time bomb - We build power at self-sustaining, balanced levels, because all the power in the world means nothing if you can't finish."

"From personal experience, I've found the folks at Yoshimura to be knowledgeable, responsive, and genuinely nice people," said Robertson who has a Yoshimura powerplant in his #42. "I look forward to the California Lightning Sprints representing Yoshimura R&D at all our events this year. Our very own AJ Bender has already won two main events this season with a Yoshimura R&D built motor, and we look forward to expanding this success within the club this year. I am now personally running their motors as well and I believe others are on the way."

For teams looking to expand their power and get more reliability, Yoshimura's website is available at the following link https://www.yoshimura-rd.com/. The office phone number is (800) 634-9166. The physical address is 5420 Daniels Street, Chino, CA 91710.

The CLS season continues this Saturday, May 21st, at the Ventura Raceway. Spectator gates will open at 3:00 p.m. and the first race will be at 5:30. The track is located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001). The website is http://venturaraceway.com/ and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings

1. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, CA ... 712

2. Jeff Dyer, Yucca Valley, CA ... 633

3. David Gasper, Santa Barbara, CA ... 625

4. Eric Greco, Palmdale, CA ... 608

5. Will Browne ®, Glendora, CA ... 569

6. Bobby Michnowicz, Oak Hills, CA ... 425

7. Pat Kelley, Chino, CA ... 422

8. A.J. Bender, San Diego, CA, CA ... 366

9. Connor Speir, Fillmore, CA ... 360

10. Dominic De Monte, Gardena, CA ... 320

CLS vs BCRA "Civil War Series" Points

1. David Gasper - CLS - 142

2. Dakota Albright - BCRA - 126

3. Eric Greco - CLS - 126

4. Will Browne - CLA 116

5. Harlee Aguilera - BCRA - 109

6. Cody Nigh - CLS - 104

7. Greg Dennett - BCRA - 100

8. Hunter Kinney - BCRA - 92

9. Matt Land - BCRA - 89

10. Tim Kinser - 83

CLS Contingency Awards

Heat Race #1 - Extreme Muffler $50.00 Product Certificate -

Heat Race #2 - CSI Shocks - $50.00 Product Certificate -

Heat Race #3 - Saldana Race Products - $50.00 Product Certificate -

1st Place Main Event - Eibach Springs $100.00 Product Certificate -

2nd Place Main Event - Vahlco Wheels $50.00 Product Certificate -

3rd Place Main Event - Jake Swanson Shock Technology $50 Product Certificate -

4th Place Main Event - Hyper Chassis - $50 Product Certificate -

5th Place Main Event - Smith Titanium Product Certificate -

10th Place Main Event - King Racing Products $25.00 Product Certificate -

Fast Qualifier - West Evans Motorsports $25.00 Product Certificate -

Hard Charger - Speed Mart $25.00 Product Certificate -

Hard Charger - Advanced Racing Suspension Product Certificate -

Hard Luck Award - Speed Mart $25.00 Product Certificate -

1st Car Not On The Lead Lap - Rebel Gears 30% Off Coupon -

The following companies have become marketing partners with the CLS in 2022. They have offered up more than $13,000.00 in contingencies that will be awarded on top of the regular racing purses and they will be paid out throughout the year. Yoshimura R&D, Hoosier Tires West, T-Shirts By Timeless, Extreme Mufflers, Saldana Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Speed Mart, Cold Fire West, West Evens Motorsports, RC Fuel Injection, Jake Swanson Shock Technology, Advanced Racing Suspensions, CSI Shocks, Eibach Springs, Triple X Race Components, King Racing Products, Hyper Racing Products, Rebel Gears, Vahlco Wheels, Wilwood Disk Brakes, Fuel Safe Systems, MPI, Circle Track Performance, E-Z UP, Hepfner Racing, Smith Titanium, and Hoosier Speed.

If you or your company would like to become a partner of the longtime racing organization, contact Jon Robertson via email at mailto:jon.robertson@sbcglobal.net or by calling (310) 367-9050.

2022 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 25 Bakersfield Speedway Winged - Grant Sexton

April 2 Merced Speedway Non-Wing -- Civil War #1 - David Gasper

April 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged - A.J. Bender

April 30 Ventura Raceway Winged (Make Up Main) David Gasper

April 30 Ventura Raceway Winged - Bobby Michnowicz

May 14 Bakersfield Speedway Winged - A.J. Bender

May 21 Ventura Raceway Winged -

June 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged

June 25 Ventura Raceway Winged

July 9 Ventura Raceway Winged

July 23 Ventura Raceway Winged

August 26 Silver Dollar Speedway Winged - Civil War #2

August 27 Placerville Speedway Winged - Civil War #3

September 10 Lemoore Raceway Winged

September 24 Bakersfield Speedway Winged - Civil War #4

October 8 Mohave Valley Raceway Winged - With SWLS

October 29 Ventura Raceway Winged

November 15 Bakersfield Speedway Winged - With USAC Midgets - Civil War #5

November 17 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing - With USAC Midgets - No Points

November 18 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing - With USAC Midgets - No Points

November 19 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing - With USAC Midgets - No Points

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/ or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

2017 Bobby Michnowicz

2018 Jarrett Kramer

2019 Jarrett Kramer

2021 David Gasper

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@gmail.com