dirtFan.com Find Dirt Track Races


dirtFan website

(Lakeside, CA, June 22, 2022) The Lucas Oil POWRi Lightning Sprint Car Series returns to its home track, the Barona Speedway, for round #7 of the 2022 season this Saturday, June 25. The race will feature wings on the SWLS cars. Spectator gates will open at 3:00 p.m. and the first green flag will start the action at 6:00.

Brent Sexton, shown here at the May 14th wingless race at Barona, is the new SWLS point leader. Missy Benker photo.

Four different drivers have posted wins in the first six races of the 2022 championship season and three of them sleep under the same roof. Dalton Sexton and his brother Grant, the 2021 SWLS champion, each has two wins. Their father, Brent, has visited victory circle once. The only other driver to post a win in the series this year is the 2021 SWLS Rookie of The Year Braden Chiaramonte of El Cajon.

Saturday's SWLS race on the San Diego County quarter-mile will be the fourth of five in a row at Barona and the last series event at the track until October. Recent high school graduate Grant Sexton won the last series race at the track two weeks ago when he easily outdistanced the field. Brent Sexton, San Diego's Parker Dumas, Ryan Dumas, and Deejay Dumas rounded out the top five.

Brent Sexton's second-place finish two weeks ago pushed him past his oldest son Dalton in the championship standings. Going into Saturday's race, Brent has a 20-point cushion between himself and his oldest offspring. Lakeside's Cody Griggs is sitting third in points with San Diego's David Bezio fourth. Imperial Beach racer C.J. Marin is fifth and he also sits on top of the Rookie Of The Year standings.

In addition to Brent Sexton leading the Southwest Lightning Sprint Car Series championship points, he is also ranked ninth in the POWRi national standings. He is the only Californian ranked in the top 10 at the present time.

In addition to the SWLS, the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Compacts, IMCA Sport Mods, Pure Stocks, Pony Stocks, So Cal Mowers, Mini Dwarfs, and Junior Sprints will all be in action. Adult tickets are $25.00. Kids 7-17 are $10.00 and children 6 and under are free. Family packs of two adults and two kids are available for $50.00. Seniors, military, and EMTs get in for $10.00.

The Lucas Oil POWRi Southwest Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the Sexton Fire Protection, RTL Traffic Control & Equipment, Victory Graphix, BK Wing, and A.M. Ortega Construction Inc. If you or your company would like to become part of the series in 2022, please contact Brent Sexton at (619) 454-6945 or mailto:sextonfire@cox.net

Lucas Oil POWRi Southwest Lightning Sprint Car Points

1. Brent Sexton - Lakeside, CA - 858

2. Dalton Sexton - Lakeside, CA - 838

3. Cody Griggs - Lakeside, CA - 725

4. David Bezio, San Diego, CA - 696

5. C.J. Marin, Imperial Beach, CA - 678

6. Jeremy Queener, Lake Elsinore, CA - 635

7. Braden Chiaramonte, El Cajon, CA - 590

8. Grant Sexton - Lakeside, CA - 570

9. Jim Squire - Lakeside, CA - 486

10. Peter Benker - Alpine, CA - 469

2022 Lucas Oil POWRi Southwest Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 4 Imperial Valley Raceway Wingless - Dalton Sexton

March 5 Imperial Valley Raceway Wingless - Brent Sexton

April 23 Imperial Valley Raceway Winged - Braden Chiaramonte

April 30 Barona Speedway Winged - Grant Sexton

May 14 Barona Speedway Wingless - Dalton Sexton

June 11 Barona Speedway Winged - Grant Sexton

June 25 Barona Speedway Winged

July 9 Barona Speedway Wingless

July 14 Deming Speedway (Clay Cup - Winged) Non-Points

July 15 Deming Speedway (Clay Cup - Winged) Non-Points

July 16 Deming Speedway (Clay Cup - Winged) Non-Points

August 11 Norman County Raceway Minkota Nationals (Winged) Non-Points

August 12 Rivers Cities Speedway Minkota Nationals (Winged) Non-Points

August 13 Greenbush Race Park Minkota Nationals (Winged) Non-Points

August 14 Buffalo Rivers Speedway Minkota Nationals (Winged) Non-Points

Sept. 14 Perris Auto Speedway (with USAC/CRA) Winged

October 1 Barona Speedway Winged

October 8 Mojave Valley Raceway (co sanction with CLS) Winged

October 13 Lemoore Raceway (California Cup) Non-Points

October 14 Lemoore Raceway (California Cup) Non-Points

October 15 Lemoore Raceway (California Cup) Non-Points

October 23 Imperial Valley Raceway Wingless

This release produced by Scott Daloisio (909) 226-7768 sdaloisiosports@gmail.com